The Office of the District Attorney is charged with the prosecution of all felony violations of State law that occur within Fulton County (Atlanta Judicial Circuit). In addition to  unincorporated Fulton County, this jurisdiction includes the municipalities of Alpharetta, Atlanta, College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Milton, Mountain Park, Palmetto, Roswell, Sandy Springs and Union City.

The District Attorney prosecutes all indictable offenses as well as those that may be charged by accusation and litigates these offenses in both the trial and appellate courts of the State of Georgia. The Office is also responsible for prosecuting felony and misdemeanor offenses committed by juveniles. In order to execute these responsibilities, as well as other duties required of the District Attorney by law, the Office currently retains a staff of 100 Assistant District Attorneys and additional 143 staff members including investigators, victim advocates, and administrative personnel.

The District Attorney is elected to four-year terms in partisan, circuit-wide races.